The criteria used for the best Vegetarian restaurants give strong consideration to the selection of fresh organic products, the variety and creativity of well prepared vegetarian dishes on the menu, service, and decor.
Organic restaurants that serve meat products are included here if their menu is predominantly vegetarian and the food is of excellent quality.
Vegan restaurants with a stricter diet also are included here.
Vegetarians abstain from the consumption of meat, poultry, seafood and the flesh of any other animals, though some dairy products such as eggs are acceptable. However, cheeses made from rennet, the stomach of slaughtered newly-born calves are not accepted. Cheeses such as Paneer, an Indian cheese and ricotta is made without any any kind of rennet are therefore acceptable.
Some vegetarians accept milk in their diet because of their claim that no animal is killed. Vegetarians also do not eat products that contain gelatin or other meat-based products.
A vegan diet is stricter eliminating all animal products from their diet including dairy and eggs. Being a vegan also is a lifestyle, as vegans generally do not wear leather and avoid products made from animals such as wool, silk and down.